Golden Paws Pet Styling Academy

Admissions

Entrance Requirements:

  • At least 17 years of age
  • A copy of your high school diploma or GED
  • Diplomas in a language other than English must be provided already translated

Rolling Enrollment:

You may join a class on the first day of any week as long as there is a table available.  Part-time classes begin on Sundays and Full-time classes begin on Mondays.  We limit class sizes to 10 students.

With a Rolling Enrollment, each student may be at a different point in the program.  This allows instructors to spend more individual time with students who are just beginning the program while being available to work with those further along in the program.  Each student is able to work at their own pace to develop the skills necessary to correctly groom the pets.

Tuition:

Professional Dog Styling:

Registration $ 100.00

Tools            $ 850.00

Tuition         $6600.00

Total cost     $7550.00

 

Professional Dog Bathing:

Registration  $  90.00

Tools            $  97.50

Tuition         $ 950.00

Total cost     $1142.50

 

(The non-refundable Registration fee is due upon enrollment. Tool prices are based upon manufacturer’s cost and are subject to change without notice.)

 

Refund Clauses

Refund and Withdrawal Policies

For a student canceling within the seventh calendar day by midnight following the date of signing the enrollment form and requesting the refund in writing to the school director but prior to the beginning of classes, monies paid to the school shall be refunded except the non-refundable registration fee if no classes are attended and no materials are given. Once the student takes possession of the equipment there is no equipment refund.

For any student that withdraws or is terminated by the school the school will calculate the refund as required by New York State Education Law and as stated in this catalog and the enrollment form. If the student is absent more than 30 days with no approval the school will send by mail notification of the student being dropped and the student will be added to the drop form, after 12 more days the refund will be calculated from the 1st and last day of attendance and the student will be mailed the refund. The student may notify the school director in writing if they wish to stop attendance and their intention to leave the school. The student may mail or give this notice in person. The student should provide correct contact information and an address if they wish the refund to be mailed.

In the unforeseen event of the school not being able to complete the student’s education the school will attempt to offer a compatible train-out alternate school or refund the tuition in full.  If the student has applied and not received a refund from the school within 30 days they may file a complaint with New York State Education Department Commissioner of Education by obtaining a Complaint Form. The Complaint Form can be used for other complaints. The Commission shall compute the refund, if any according to the refund policy. If the school has not closed the student must show;

  1. That they are eligible;
  2. The student has made a request to the school for a refund;
  3. The school has failed to make the refund within 30 days

 

WITHDRAWAL FROM COURSE:  “Consumers right to cancellation.  You may cancel this contract at any time by delivering or mailing by certified or registered United States mail to the address specified in the contract.  If you cancel the contract within three (3) days from the date of receipt, you will be entitled to a full refund.  To cancel a contract within three (3) days from the date of receipt by registered or certified mail, such mail must be postmarked within the three (3) day period.  After the three (3) day period, you may be assessed a reasonable and fair service fee.  If you utilized services and subsequently cancel the contract, you will be charged only for instruction services actually furnished and a reasonable and fair service fee, as defined in Paragraph (c) of Subdivision 1 of Section 394-B of the General Business Law.  A breach of this provision shall subject the seller to pay damages up to twice the amount of the actual damages plus reasonable attorney fees.”  You have the right to withdrawal from a course of instruction at any time. If you withdraw from the course of instruction after the period allowed for cancellation of the Agreement, the School will remit a refund less a registration fee, if applicable, not to exceed $100.00 for the Professional Pet Styling Program and $95.00 for the Professional Dog Bathing Program, within thirty days following your withdrawal. You are obligated to pay only for educational services rendered and for equipment in your possession. Equipment is non-refundable. If you obtain equipment, as specified in the Agreement as a separate charge, it is yours to keep without further obligation.

“THE FAILURE OF A STUDENT TO IMMEDIATELY NOTIFY THE SCHOOL DIRECTOR IN WRITING OF THE STUDENT’S INTENT TO WITHDRAW MAY DELAY A REFUND OF TUITION TO THE STUDENT PURSUANT TO SECTION 5002(3) OF THE EDUCATIONAL LAW”.  The school has 30 days to make the refund, if any is determined from the amount of the student’s attendance.

 

Professional Dog Styling Program Refund Policies:

  1. A student who cancels within 7 days of signing the enrollment agreement receives allmonies returned with the exception of the non-refundable registration fee.
  2. Thereafter, a student will be liable for
    1. the non-refundable registration fee of $100 plus
    2. the cost of any textbook or supplies accepted in the amount of $850 plus tuition liability as of the student’s last date of physical attendance.

Tuition liability is divided by the quarter in the program (one 8 week quarter for full time, two 10 week quarters for part time). Total tuition liability is limited to the quarter during which the student withdrew or was terminated.

First Quarter

If termination occurs

Prior to or during first week

During the second week

During the third week

During the fourth week

After the fourth week

School may keep

0%

25%

50%

75%

100%

Second Quarter (part time schedule only)

If termination occurs

Prior to or during first week

During the second week

During the third week

During the fourth week

After the fourth week

School may keep

0%

25%

50%

75%

100%

Method of Payment: Initial Down Payment of $3,750 with balance of $2,800 due 2 weeks after start date. Payment can be made at time of enrollment in full with Money Order, Cash, Master Card, Visa, or Check. If paid by check, check must clear the banking institution before student begins class.

Professional Dog Bathing Program Refund Policies:

  1. A student who cancels within 7 days of signing the enrollment agreement but before instruction begins receives all monies returned with the exception of the non-refundable registration fee.
  2. Thereafter, a student will be liable for
    1. the non-refundable registration fee of $95.00 plus
    2. the cost of any textbooks or supplies accepted in the amount of $97.50 plus
    3. tuition liability as of the student’s last date of physical attendance.

Tuition liability is divided by the number of days in the program, which is 11 ½ days.  Total tuition liability is limited to the day during which the student withdrew or was terminated.

If termination occurs

0 – 15% of the program

16 – 30% of the program

31 – 45% of the program

46 – 60% of the program

After 60% of the program

School may keep

0%

25%

50%

75%

100%

Method of Payment: Due to the amount of hours for the Professional Dog Bathing Program total payment is due at start date. Payment can be made at time of enrollment in full with Money Order, Cash, Master Card, Visa, or Check. If paid by check, check must clear the banking institution before student begins class.

TEXTS, KITS, UNIFORMS AND TOOLS ARE THE PROPERTY OF THE STUDENT, AND CANNOT BE RETURNED AS PART OF THE REFUND.

Refund Provisions

BUYER’S RIGHT TO CANCEL:  Cancellation shall occur when you give written notice of cancellation at the address of the School shown on the top of the first page of the Enrollment Agreement. The written notice of cancellation need not take any particular form and, however expressed, is effective if it shows that you no longer wish to be bound by this Agreement.

Once you pay for the equipment and take possession of equipment, it is yours to keep without further obligation. There will be no refund on equipment you have taken possession of. If you cancel this Agreement, the school will refund any money that you paid, less any deduction for equipment and Registration Fee, within thirty days after your Notice of Cancellation is received.

 

IF THE AMOUNT YOU HAVE PAID IS MORE THAN THE AMOUNT THAT YOU OWE FOR THE SAME TIME YOU ATTENDED, THEN A REFUND WILL BE MADE WITHIN THIRTY DAYS OF WITHDRAWAL. IF THE AMOUNT THAT YOU OWE IS MORE THAN THE AMOUNT THAT YOU HAVE ALREADY PAID, THEN YOU WILL HAVE TO MAKE ARRANGEMENTS TO PAY FOR IT.

Veteran Cancellation and Refund Policy

A student may cancel this agreement at no penalty by notifying the school in writing within seven (7) days after midnight of the day on which the agreement was signed provided the student has not entered into instruction. After this seven (7) day period and before the student has entered into instruction, if the student cancels this agreement, the school may retain Ten dollars ($10.00) of the established registration fee.

 

Any monies paid to the school in excess of the sum due the school by the student who cancels, withdraws or is discontinued will be refunded within thirty (30) days after notification of termination.   No charge will be made for absences in excess of twenty percent (20%) of the total hours of the course or those absences occurring after the last day of attendance.

 

If the student withdraws or is discontinued after instruction has begun, the school may retain the following:

  • $10.00 of the established registration fee. The amount in excess of $10.00 will be subject to prorating.
  •  The stated cost of such text books, tools, etc. as have been issued by the school and accepted by the student plus;
  • An amount derived from the actual hours of absence multiplied by the hourly rate of $18.50 plus;
  • An amount derived from such hours of absence multiplied by the hourly rate of $18.50.